Page content relevant to:

    Scholarship Facilitation Fund Fall 2018

    The Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR) is pleased to announce the recipients of the Spring 2018 Scholarship Facilitation Fund (SFF) Awards. Funding support totaling $50,950 will be granted to 30 exciting faculty projects.

    The SFF program offers crucial support to faculty research, scholarly activities, creative works, and interdisciplinary initiatives. These competitive awards provide up to $2000 to assist faculty in the initiation, completion, or advancement of these projects.

    Additional information about the program, including the guidelines and application form, are available on the OVPR website. The deadline for the Fall 2018 awards is June 1, 2018.

    The Spring 2018 SFF awardees are:

    Daniel Adler, Anthropology, Tracking the Earliest Dispersal of Humans from Africa at Haghtanak-3, an Early Pleistocene Archaeological Site in Northern Armenia

    Jorge Aguero, Economics and El Instituto, Can Inclusive Education Programs Reduce Racial and Gender Discrimination in the Labor Market?
    Emma Amador, History (and El Instituto), Contesting Colonial Citizenship: Copyediting
    Mary Anne Amalaradjou, Animal Science, Early and sustained application of probiotics to improve growth and performance in chickens
    Brian Aneskievich, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Publication of a Critical Evaluation of Current Literature, Emerging Trends, and Future Research Foci for the Anti-Inflammatory Protein TNIP1
    Alfredo Angeles-Boza, Chemistry, Mechanistic Studies of N2 Binding and Activation
    Alexander Anievas, Political Science, Legacies of Fascism: Race and the Far-Right in the Making of the Cold War
    Saraswathi Bellur Thandaveshwara, Communication, Media Psychophysiology Lecture and Workshop
    Pamela Brown, English, The Diva’s Gift: The Italian Actress and the Shakespearean Stage
    Brenda Brueggemann, English, Posting Mabel: An Epistolary Biography of Mabel Hubbard Bell
    Clewiston Challenger, Educational Psychology, Dr. Challenger’s Transition to College Program for Student-Athletes (CTCPSA)
    Chi-Ming Chen, Psychological Sciences, Neuronal oscillations in dysfunctions of obsessive-compulsive disorders
    Ashwin Dani, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Visual Tracking Using Sparse Coding and Earth Mover’s Distance
    Debanuj DasGupta, Geography, Precarious Transgender Subject and Shrinking Urban Spaces in Kolkata
    Ana Maria Diaz-Marcos, Literatures, Cultures and Languages, Stages of Crisis: Spanish Women Playwrights in the 21st Century
    Maria Gordina, Mathematics, Workshop “Functional inequalities in probability”
    Solomiya Ivakhiv, Music, Singles and Doubles: Haydns, Mendelssohn and Hummel Double Concertos
    Walter Krawec, Computer Science & Engineering, Numerical Tools for Practical Limited-Resource Quantum Cryptography
    Maria LaRusso, Human Development and Family Studies, Intervening with Behaviorally Challenging Students in Schools: A Pilot Study of Collaborative and Proactive Solutions
    Glen Macleod, English,
    Philip Mannheim, Physics,
    Samuel Martinez, El Instituto: Institute of Latina/o, Caribbean, and Latin American Studies, 2018 Mead Lecture: “Immigration in the Time of Trump”
    Deborah McDonald, Nursing, The Analgesic Adverse Drug Response Measure: Development and Psychometric Testing
    Matthew McKenzie, History, Funding for indexing services on book galley proofs, Breaking the Banks: Representation and Reality in New England Fisheries, 1866-1966 (University of Massachusetts Press, 2018).
    Liansu Meng, Department of Literatures, Cultures & Languages, Man/Woman, Machine/Nature: Modern Chinese Poetry at the Intersection of Industrialism and Feminism (1915-1980)
    Yonatan Morse, Political Science, Legislative Candidacy in Tough Environments: The Case of Cameroon
    Nitis Mukhopadhyay, Statistics, Sabbatical Leave Fall 2018: Major Book Revision and Trips to Aachen, Germany and Linz, Austria (Sep 3-16, 2018); Seoul, South Korea (Oct 4-16, 2018) and Tsukuba, Japan (Nov 8-19, 2018)
    Shayla Nunnally, Political Science, The Black Class Reunion Oral History Project
    Kim Price-Glynn, Sociology, Contradictions of Caregiving: Negotiating Parenting, Child Care, and Labor
    Heather Read, Neuroscience,
    Sarah Reed, Animal Science, Alterations in insulin-like growth factor signaling in maternal and fetal placental tissues as a result of poor maternal nutrition
    Eric Rice, Music, Editing and Mastering of a Recording by Ensemble Origo of “Luther’s Deutsche Messe,” a Concert Program to Recognize the 500th Anniversary of the Start of the Protestant Reformation
    Barry Rosenberg, Art & Art History, Two International Centers for Contemporary Art: London and Paris
    Marcus Rossberg, Philosophy and UConn Logic Group, Logic Group Colloquium
    Susan Schneider, Philosophy, Designing the Mind: AI, Brain Enhancement, and the Nature of the Self
    Matthew Singer, Political Science, PREPPS: The Political Representation, Parties and Presidents Survey
    Christine Sylvester, Political Science, Commemorating War Defeat: Japan and Australia
    Whitney Tabor, Psychology, Escape from fraught states: testing a web-based mechanism for the study of group coordination
    Brian Waddell, Political Science, Transcription of interview tapes
    Lingling Wang, Finance, Textual Analysis on the Compensation Discussion and Analysis
    Xiaodong Yan, Mathematics, Recent progress in multiscale nonlocal PDEs
    Jing Zhao, Chemistry, Study of the electron transfer mechanism from colloidal quantum dots to molecular electron acceptors

    Back to SFF Awards