• uconn
Page content relevant to:

HRPP/IRB Administration

Office of the Vice President for Research
Research Integrity & Compliance
438 Whitney Rd. Ext., Unit 1246
Storrs, CT 06269-1246


Name Title Phone Email
Karen Christianson Interim Program Manager – HRPP/IRB; HRP Consultant karen.2.christianson@uconn.edu
Doug Bradway Senior Administrative Program Support 860.486.0986 doug.bradway@uconn.edu
Joan Levine Education & QA/QI Specialist 860.486.7145 joan.levine@uconn.edu
Diane Sainsbury IRB Program Specialist 860.486.5944 diane.sainsbury@uconn.edu
Nicole Ferrari IRB Program Specialist nicole.ferrari@uconn.edu
Jocelyn Springfield IRB Program Specialist jocelyn.springfield@uconn.edu
Jeanelle Graham IRB Program Specialist jeanelle.graham@uconn.edu
Cassandra Myers HRP Consultant cassandra.myers@uconn.edu
Lisandra González HRP Consultant lisandra.gonzalez@uconn.edu
HRPP/IRB Office Main Line 860.486.8802 irb@uconn.edu
Technical Support
Research IT Help Desk 860.486.7944 era-support@uconn.edu

For questions about:                                                                                                        Contact:

InfoEd Submissions
Technical Questions/Troubleshooting Research IT Help Desk
Non-Technical Questions – submission components, routing, InfoEd data entry questions/concerns and expiration and reminder notices irb@uconn.edu
IRB Submission Type
Non-exempt Initial Review (H23-XXX) Doug Bradway

Diane Sainsbury

Lisandra González

Jeanelle Graham

Limited IRB Review (L23-XXX) Nicole Ferrari

Lisandra González

Exempt IRB Review (X23-XXX) Nicole Ferrari

Lisandra González

Jeanelle Graham

Amendments, including PI changes Jocelyn Springfield

Lisandra González

Protocol Deviations, Adverse Events, Reportable Information Joan Levine
Not Human Subject Research Determinations (NHSR23-XXXX) Doug Bradway
46.118 Approvals Lacking Definite Plans (Just-In-Time/118) Doug Bradway
Personnel Changes (Except PI or Non-UConn Personnel) irb@uconn.edu 
Involvement of Other IRBs/Non-UConn Investigators
Non-UConn investigators listed on protocol submissions/Use of Individual Investigator Agreements/Reliance Agreements/IRB Authorization Agreements/Cooperative Agreements, Coded Data Agreements/Permission to Recruit at Storrs and Regional Campuses/UConn Investigators listed on Non-UConn protocol submissions irb-reliance@uconn.edu


General Human Subjects Training and Education, Requests for Training, Workshops, and Presentations Joan Levine


Signatory Requests and Funder Requirements
Certificates of Confidentiality, Institutional Certifications, dbGAP Access Assurance irb@uconn.edu

IRB Members

The IRB is composed of members of the University and local communities.   The individual members contribute the professional competency necessary to review specific research activities representing a broad range of disciplines through experience and expertise in their fields. In addition, the IRB seeks diversity in race, gender and cultural backgrounds to promote sensitivity to community attitudes and respect for the rights and welfare of human subjects. If you are interested in serving on the IRB, contact the IRB Office.

The fully convened IRB meets approximately every three weeks on the Storrs campus and is made up of the following members:

  • Rachel Tambling, PhD, IRB Chair, Human Development and Family Sciences, Ph: 860.486.6111, rachel.tambling@uconn.edu
  • Jennie Albert, PhD, LCSW, Research Compliance Services (Community/Prisoner Representative)
  • Kristin Bissell, MD, Student Health and Wellness
  • Jeffrey Burke, PhD, IRB Vice-Chair, Psychological Sciences
  • Doug Bradway, MA, CIP, Research Compliance Services
  • John Christensen, PhD, Communication
  • Valerie Duffy, PhD, Allied Health Sciences
  • Thomas Hogan, BA, Research Compliance Services (Community/Prisoner Representative)
  • Elaine Lee, PhD,  Kinesiology
  • Catherine Little, PhD,  Educational Psychology
  • Anita Morzillo, PhD, Natural Resources and the Environment
  • Sabato Santaniello, PhD, Biomedical Engineering
  • Tra Vinikoor, Biomedical Engineering (Graduate Student Representative)
  • Chris Bernard, PhD, Chief Information Security Officer (CISO), IT Security (Ex Officio)
  • Tamika Blackburn, MD, Alternate IRB Member, Student Health Services
  • Karen Christianson, RN, BSN, Alternate IRB Member, HRP Consultant
  • Nicole Ferrari, MS, CIP, Alternate IRB Member, Research Compliance Services
  • Lisandra González, MPH, Alternate IRB Member, HRP Consultant
  • Cassandra Myers, BS, Alternate IRB Member, HRP Consultant
  • John Navarro, MS, CSCS, Alternate IRB Member, Kinesiology (Graduate Student Representative)
  • Diane Sainsbury, MBA, Alternate IRB Member, Research Compliance Services
  • Lisa Sanetti, PhD, Alternate IRB Member, Educational Psychology
  • Jocelyn Springfield, Alternate IRB Member, Research Compliance Services