• uconn
Page content relevant to:

HRPP/IRB Administration

Office of the Vice President for Research
Research Compliance Services/IRB
438 Whitney Rd. Ext., Unit 1246
Storrs, CT 06269-1246
irb@uconn.edu

 

Name Title Phone Email
Karen Moré RCS Director 860.486.2459 karen.more@uconn.edu
Doug Bradway IRB Program Specialist 860.486.0986 doug.bradway@uconn.edu
Joan Levine Education & QA/QI Specialist 860.486.7145 joan.levine@uconn.edu
Diane Sainsbury IRB Program Specialist 860.486.5944 diane.sainsbury@uconn.edu
Nick Lacafta
Records Technician 860.486.8802 nicholas.lacafta@uconn.edu
Nicole Ferrari IRB Program Specialist nicole.ferrari@uconn.edu
Jocelyn Springfield IRB Program Specialist jocelyn.springfield@uconn.edu
Karen Christianson HRP Consultant karen.2.christianson@uconn.edu
Cassandra Myers HRP Consultant cassandra.myers@uconn.edu
Lisandra Gonzalez HRP Consultant lisandra.gonzalez@uconn.edu
Technical Support
Research IT Help Desk 860.486.7944 era-support@uconn.edu

For questions about:                                                                                                        Contact:

InfoEd Submissions
Technical Questions/Troubleshooting Research IT Help Desk
Non-Technical Questions – submission components, routing, etc. Nick Lacafta

Doug Bradway

InfoEd Data Entry Questions/Concerns & Expiration and Reminder Notices Nick Lacafta
IRB Submission Type
Non-exempt Review (H21-XXX) Doug Bradway

Diane Sainsbury

Lisandra Gonzalez

Jocelyn Springfield

Nicole Ferrari

Limited IRB Review (L21-XXX) Lisandra Gonzalez
Exempt IRB Review (X21-XXX) Nick Lacafta

Jocelyn Springfield

Nicole Ferrari

Amendments Jocelyn Springfield

Doug Bradway

Diane Sainsbury

Nicole Ferrari

Protocol Deviations, Adverse Events Joan Levine
Involvement of Other IRBs/Other Non-UConn Investigators
Non-UConn investigators listed on protocol submissions/Use of Individual Investigator Agreements Doug Bradway

Nicole Ferrari

 

Cooperative Agreements with UConn Health, Hartford Hospital, Connecticut Children’s Medical Center, CT Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services and Jackson Labs (Farmington, CT) Doug Bradway

Nicole Ferrari

 

IRB Authorization Agreements/Involvement of other Domestic or Foreign Academic Institutions/Use of IRB Authorization Agreements Doug Bradway

Nicole Ferrari

 

Training
General Human Subjects Training and Education, Requests for Training, Workshops, and Presentations Joan Levine

 

Certificates of Confidentiality
Questions, Required Institutional Assurances Any IRB Staff Member

IRB Members

The IRB is composed of members of the University and local communities.   The individual members contribute the professional competency necessary to review specific research activities representing a broad range of disciplines through experience and expertise in their fields. In addition, the IRB seeks diversity in race, gender and cultural backgrounds to promote sensitivity to community attitudes and respect for the rights and welfare of human subjects. If you are interested in serving on the IRB, contact the IRB Office.

The fully convened IRB meets approximately every three weeks on the Storrs campus and is made up of the following members:

  • Rachel Tambling, PhD, IRB Chair, Human Development and Family Sciences, Ph: 860.486.6111, rachel.tambling@uconn.edu
  • Jeffrey Burke, PhD, IRB Vice-Chair, Psychological Sciences
  • Douglas Bradway, MA, CIP, Research Integrity and Compliance Services
  • John Christensen, PhD, Communication
  • William Dennett, MA, Community/Unaffiliated Member
  • Valerie Duffy, PhD, Allied Health Sciences
  • Elaine Lee, PhD, Kinesiology
  • Ethel Mantzaris, BA, Community/Unaffiliated Member (Prisoner Representative)
  • I’Jaaz Muhammad, BS, Biomedical Engineering (Graduate Student Representative)
  • Emily Myers, PhD, Psychological Sciences; Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences
  • Lisa Sanetti, PhD, Educational Psychology
  • Sabato Santaniello, PhD, Biomedical Engineering
  • Martha Sternberg-Ennis, MD, Student Health Services
  • Chris Bernard, PhD, Chief Information Security Officer (CISO), IT Security (Ex Officio)
  • Kristin Bissell, MD, Alternate IRB Member, Student Health Services
  • Tamika Blackburn, MD, Alternate IRB Member, Student Health Services
  • Ock Chun, PhD, MPH, Alternate IRB Member, Nutritional Sciences
  • Karen Christianson, RN, BSN, Alternate IRB Member, HRP
  • Lisandra González, MPH, Alternate IRB Member, HRP
  • Catherine Little, PhD, Alternate IRB Member, Educational Psychology
  • Cassandra Myers, BS, Alternate IRB Member, HRP